Dean’s Welcome

Dear friends,

Welcome, and thank you for your interest in UMKC’s School of Computing and Engineering (SCE).

I am pleased to share that over the past decade, the School of Computing and Engineering has more than doubled our enrollment and is now the fastest-growing, third-largest school at UMKC. However, what brings me the most pride isn’t our sheer number of students — it’s the fact that our school deeply values diversity, is committed to recruiting top talent and has seen exponential growth in our research.

Since 2008, we have seen a 172 percent increase in female students, the average ACT score of our incoming freshmen class has risen from 24.5 to nearly 27, and our research funding has more than tripled.

As Kansas City’s university, the relationships we have with alumni and community leaders are invaluable to our students. We strive to serve our students, Kansas City and beyond by graduating young people who are prepared for 21st century careers.

I welcome you to explore with us all that SCE has to offer.

Kevin Z. Truman, Dean, School of Computing and Engineering and Vice Provost, UMKC

  • Past position: Chair and Greensfelder Professor of Mechanical, Aerospace and Structural Engineering at Washington University in St. Louis
  • Roots: Grew up on a farm in rural Illinois and is a first-generation college student
  • Research: Earthquake-resistant design and structural design and construction of massive concrete systems
  • Interests and hobbies: National Hockey League off-ice official, avid dog trainer and international traveler


Masud Chowdhury

Department Chair, Computer Science & Electrical Engineering

Dr. Masud Chowdhury holds a Ph.D. Degree in Computer Engineering from Northwestern University, IL, USA and a B.S. Degree in Electrical and Electronic Engineering from Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology. His fields of research include microelectronics and nanotechnology. He has published more than 150 journal and conference papers. His research has been funded by US Air Force, National Science Foundation (NSF) and University of Missouri System grants. He has been serving as the Associate Editors of four leading journals and previously served as the Chair of IEEE VLSI Systems and Applications Technical Committee. He has supervised and currently supervising more than 50 PhD and MS students. He received Leadership Excellence Achievement Program (LEAP) Award 2017 from Missouri Society of Professional Engineers (MSPE) for demonstrated mentoring abilities that encourage students to seek leadership excellence in the engineering profession.

John Kevern

Department Chair, Civil and Mechanical Engineering

Dr. Kevern holds a Ph.D and M.S. Degree in Civil Engineering from Iowa State University as well as a B.S. in Civil Engineering from University of Wisconsin-Platteville. In addition to serving as Chair of the Department of Civil and Mechanical Engineering, Dr. Kevern’s research focuses on sustainable construction materials related to concrete, pervious concrete mixture design, development and testing procedures and pavement performance, and concrete materials analysis.


The Executive Council includes professionals, industry leaders and alumni who lend expertise and perspective in their fields.

Katie Bennewitz
VP of Engineering
SS&C Technologies

Randy Bredar
Executive Vice President
JE Dunn Construction

Riddiman Das
Co-Founder & CEO

Steve Edwards
President & CEO
Black and Veatch

Sonia Garapaty
FSC, Inc.

Jim Hogan
Senior Vice President, Transmission and Distribution
Burns and McDonnell (Retired)

Chris Isaacson
EVP, Global CIO


Ed Link
Vice President, Information Technology/Security
GarminRenita Mollman
Chief Administrative Officer
Burns & McDonnell

Tim Moormeier
U.S. Engineering

Mike Nill
Chief Operating Officer
Cerner (Retired)

Jim Palmer
Consulting Engineer
Kristopher Schumacher
Engineering Director
Robin Stubenhofer
Vice President, Engineering
NNSA Nat’l Security Campus
Honeywell FM&T