2018 ASEE Midwest Section Conference: Putting Engineering Education in Practice

The meeting of the Midwest Section of the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE), hosted by the University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Computing & Engineering, will address various facets of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education, with an emphasis on educational relationships with industry. The theme for this year’s conference is “Putting Engineering Education in Practice.”

View photos from the 2018 conference here.

Important Dates

July 2, 2018: Submission deadline for review manuscripts
July 18, 2018: Comments from reviewers
August 1, 2018: Final manuscripts are due
August 1, 2018: Author registration deadline
August 1, 2018: Submission deadline for student posters
August 30, 2018: Early bird registration deadline for all attendees

Hotel Information
Easy walking from hotel to conference site at J.E. Dunn HQ.
Close to restaurants and BBQ in the Power & Light District.
Easy light rail side trip to national WWI museum.

Below is the reservations link your attendees can use to make online reservations.

ASEE 2018 Regional Meeting

Guests can also make reservations through the hotel at 816-474-6664 ext. 7500 or 1-800-2CROWNE on an individual basis. Please identify yourself as members of ASEE to receive the group rate.

Papers, Posters, & Workshops Representative Topics of Interest

  • Pedagogy/teaching and learning
  • Interaction with industry
  • Faculty development
    STEM Pipeline
  • Educational support

What? 2018 ASEE Midwest Section Conference

Who? Persons interested in engineering education

Why? Come find out!

When? September 16-18, 2018

Where? J.E. Dunn Construction HQ in downtown KC, 1001 Locust St, Kansas City, MO 64106. Parking at J.E. Dunn.

  • Sunday

    Speed networking with 50 local engineers.

  • Monday

    Keynote by Michael Bracken, VP Northrop Grumman (Chicago)

    Food truck supper followed by standup comic Dave Kious

  • Tuesday

    Local jazz music by Lem Sheppard

    Conference awards and closeout

Dr. Deb O’Bannon

Dr. Deb O’Bannon

Conference Co-Chair
Dr. Katherine Bloemker

Dr. Katherine Bloemker

Student Poster Coordinator
Mr. Scott Curtis

Mr. Scott Curtis

Conference Co-Chair and Manuscript Coordinator
Dr. Amardeep Kaur

Dr. Amardeep Kaur

Midwest Section Chair